Ten Years of Fears: 2017 Madness Week 2 Summary

Posted: October 14, 2017 in Event Review
Tags: ,

Films
Tenebrae (1982) 1h, 50m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – Video Nasty)
This is my favorite Argento to date, having seen all his “big” movies. Just something about the story, camera work and FX just create a great film.
8/10

Cult of Chucky (2017) 1h, 31m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – FILMS RELEASED in 12/2016 through 2017 are AUTOMATIC TRIPLE BONUS)
I was surprised how good this was! Probably one of the better Chucky films to date. I’m glad I picked up the Blu to add to the collection and to support the genre. It’s a shame that the Netflix version cut out a minute or so, and didn’t have the post credit scenes.
8/10

Kong: Skull Island (2017) 1h, 58m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – FILMS RELEASED in 12/2016 through 2017 are AUTOMATIC TRIPLE BONUS)
If you know me, you know I’m a sucker for King Kong, and giant monsters in general. I’ve watched this a couple of times this year, and love it more every time. Skull Island didn’t try to be more than it was supposed to be, which is what I think plagued Peter Jackson’s version.
8.5/10

Do You Like Hitchcock? (2005) 1h, 33m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – Doc Terror Memorial List – Dario Argento)
This one was made for TV, so it lacks the depth of Argento’s best work, but it is better than some of his later fare.
7/10

The Burning (1981) 1h, 31m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – Video Nasty)
I think this is one of the best movies on the Nasty list, and in my opinion, missed out on being a major franchise by a couple of months (Friday the 13th beat it to theatres). Could you imagine Cropsey Lives, Cropsey in Space, or Cropsey Goes to Hell?
9/10

Night of the Bloody Apes (1969) 1h, 21m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – Video Nasty)
This one was so bad, it was good. Lots of fun with luchadora’s, a mad scientist and a rampaging half man-half beast.
7/10

Don’t Torture a Duckling (1972) 1h, 42m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – Doc Terror Memorial List – Lucio Fulci)
This took me a coulple tries to get through, mostly due to a crazy travel week. I feel the need to revisit, as that impacted my first impression greatly.
Holding off on rating for now

Friday the 13th (1980) 1h, 35m
Total Points: 4 (Censored in UK – Section 3 Video Nasty; Future A-Lister killed – Kevin Bacon)
The first non ATB entry of the Madness, but it had to be done, as we have a Friday the 13th in October! Classic movie and my favorite franchise.
8/10

Friday the 13th, Part II (1981) 1h, 27m
Total Points: 2 (No bonus points)
The marathon continues! In some ways, Jason in the sack mask is scarier than the hockey mask.
7.5/10

Friday the 13th, Part III (1982) 1h, 35m
Total Points: 2 (No bonus points)
This has long been one of my least favorite entries, due mostly to the cheesy 3D effects, but it’s grown on me over the years.
6.5/10

Friday the 13th, Part IV: The Final Chapter (1984) 1h, 31m
Total Points: 4 (Child under 14 is pro/antogonist (Tommy Jarvis); Genital Mutilation (Spear gun to the groin))
The start to my favorite story arc with Tommy Jarvis!
7.5/10

Friday the 13th, Part V: A New Beginning (1985) 1h, 32m
Total Points: 3 ((Child under 14 is pro/antogonist (Reggie the Reckless))
The much maligned Friday sequel that doesn’t really star Jason. If I were to rank the Fridays, this would be pretty low on the list.
6/10

Friday the 13th, Part VI: Jason Lives (1986) 1h, 27m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – Man in suit for Zombie Creature FX – Jason returns from the dead and prostetics are used for head, neck ,arms and hands)
My favorite Friday! This one is just a lot of fun. It’s also notable for being the only Friday with no nudity!
9/10

Friday the 13th, Part VII: The New Blood (1988) 1h, 28m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – Man in suit for Zombie Creature FX – Jason once again rises from a grave (albeit a watery one) and even more prostetics are used as you can see parts of Jason’s body through his clothes.
This is where I feel the wheels start to come off the franchise. This was first conceptualized as Jason vs Carrie, bringing in the psychic elements
7/10

Friday the 13th, Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan (1989) 1h, 40m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – Man in suit for zombie Creature FX)
Much like Part III, this one has grown on me. There are some interesting kills, some outrageous scenes and Kane Hodder is awesome as Jason.
6.5/10

Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday (1993) 1h, 28m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – Man in suit for zombie Creature FX)
I think this is the worst of the franchise, and it’s not close. I do applaud the studio for trying something different, but it just didn’t work.
5.5/10

Jason X (2001) 1h, 32m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – Man in suit for zombie Creature FX)
So much fun and the best the series has been since Jason Lives. You can also find one of the best kills of the franchise here with the liquid nitrogen face smash.
8/10

Freddy vs Jason (2003) 1h, 37m
Total Points: 6 (ATB – Man in suit for zombie Creature FX)
Although this was 10 years (or more) too late, I enjoyed it. The ending took the easy way out though. Great soundtrack too.
7/10

Ju-On: The Grudge (2002) 1h, 32m
Total Points: 8 (Evil Genius Challenge)
This movie was an example of the right setting and right timing. It was a very cold North Dakota winter night, and I was home alone watching Ju-On for the first time. My wife came home about two thirds of the way through it, took one look at me, and said, “whatever you are watching, I’ll pass.” Apparantly, I had the blankets pulled up to my chin and my eyes were wide open. There was something about the movie that just got to me, and it was the first time in a long time a movie “scared me” My second choice would be The Exorcist, a movie that is always unsettling!

Television
Castlevania: Witchbottle (S1, E1; 2017) 25m
Total Points: 3 (ATB – 2017 Release Date)

Castlevania: Necropolis (S1, E2; 2017) 22m
Total Points: 3 (ATB – 2017 Release Date)

Castlevania: Labyrinth (S1, E3; 2017) 23m
Total Points: 3 (ATB – 2017 Release Date)

Castelvania: Monument (S1, E4; 2017) 22m
Total Points: 3 (ATB – 2017 Release Date)
The Castlevania project has been in production hell for years. This is based on the video game Castlevania III, and was originally intended to be a live action film. I actually loved this series and am looking forward to the green-lit second season!
8/10

 

Leave a Reply

