Society (1989)

Posted: September 13, 2015 in Movie Review
Tags: , ,

Society Poster

Directed By: Brian Yuzna

Starring: Billy Warlock, Patrice Jennings, Connie Danase, Charles Lucia, Ben Slack, Evan Richards, Tim Bartell, Devin DeVasquez, Ben Meyerson

Synopsis: Bill Whitney just doesn’t seem to fit in to the Beverly Hills society, and he can’t figure out why.

Thoughts: I’ve long been a fan of Brian Yuzna. His work with Stuart Gordon put him on my radar, and seeing as how I love the Re-Animator series and From Beyond, it was no surprise that I jumped on the new Society release from Arrow. Prior to this latest release, I hadn’t seen this movie. It evaded me back in the VHS days and the DVD release was always too expensive to pick up.

I’m grateful that Arrow put out such a fantastic release. It is really a great time to be a horror movie collector. There are a multitude of companies out there releasing amazing editions of some great movies. It’s a constant struggle to decide what to order.

I imagine that Society delivered a powerful message when it was released, but I have to believe that it is even more poignant today. Society really criticizes the social classification that we see today and even creates an extremely overt example of the rich feeding off the poor.

On top of being a smart genre flick, Society also delivers some pretty gruesome scenes, which you would have to expect from Brian Yuzna based on his earlier work. In fact, the only bit of information I had about Society prior to watching it was the picture of the “butt-face.” Society is considered to be an entry into the “body horror” genre, but doesn’t quite push the boundaries that Cronenberg tends to. I see it very much in line with From Beyond, and I absolutely recommend checking it out if you haven’t.

This is a movie that belongs in your collection. I’m a bit surprised that it doesn’t get more attention, but it is fantastic. On top of being a great flick, the Arrow release is something else. Great packaging, tons of extras and a great transfer. While not a limited edition, I think that Arrow has already announced that this is out of print, so I highly suggest taking a look around and picking this up.

Leave a Reply

