Ghoulies (1984)

Posted: June 14, 2015 in Movie Review
Tags: , ,

Ghoulies Poster

Directed By: Luca Bercovici

Starring: Peter Liapis, Lisa Pelikan, Michael Des Barres, Jack Nance, Peter Risch, Tamara De Treaux, Keith Joe Dick, Ralh Seymour

Synopsis: Jonathan inherits a sprawling estate only to be drawn into a mystical book and magic rituals.

Thoughts: Ghoulies is one of those movies that always had my attention at the video store back in the day. Seriously, how could it not appeal to a preteen kid making his way through the shelves of the horror section? It has a little green demon in suspenders sitting in a toilet.

Needless to say, this movie has a special place in my heart. I can’t recall how many times I’ve seen it, but it never fails to put a smile on my face when watching it. Truth be told, it really isn’t that great of a movie. The story is pretty solid, but the acting is even worse than most 80s horror movies,  It’s got most of the usual stereotypes of the genre, including the stoners a bubble brained hot girls. My absolute favorite has to be Dick, or as he likes to be called, Dick. Just about every line of his cracks me up as they are all overacted and completely ludicrous. Ghoulies also features a couple of magical dwarves played by Peter Risch and Tamara De Treaux. I’ve always thought that the movie could have flowed better without them, even though they serve to move the plot along.

The real stars of Ghoulies are the demons themselves, created by John Carl Buechler, SFX wizard and genre director. It’s the puppetry of the Ghoulies that I really enjoy. If Ghoulies were to be made (or remade) today, it would likely be replaced by CGI. Sure it may look better, but it wouldn’t have the same nostalgia as the puppets. It’s a lot like PuppetMaster in that regard, it just isn’t the same without this particular style of FX.

I know Ghoulies is a favorite of a lot of us that grew up in the 80s and I could easily see someone seeing it for the first time not enjoying it, but it is something I am glad to own and something that will get played often in my house. Scream Factory recently released a nice double feature of Ghoulies & Ghoulies II. It’s affordable and the picture looks great, which is no surprise coming from the folks at Scream.

ghoulies-double-feature-scream-factory-cover-art-530x666

Comments
  1. drhumpp says:

    Great review. Ghoulies is a movie that makes me feel like a kid again.

  2. shnsjolin says:

    That’s a great way to put it, and exactly how I feel! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

