Muck (2015)

Posted: May 6, 2015 in Movie Review
Tags: ,

Muck

Directed By: Steve Wolsh

Starring: Lachlan Buchanan, Jaclyn Swedberg, Stephanie Danielson, Lauren Francesca, Kane Hodder, Bryce Draper, Puja Mohindra

Synopsis: A group of friends take refuge in a Cape Cod home from a group of mysterious creatures.

Thoughts: I don’t recall being more confused as I was at the beginning of Muck. It starts like you are halfway through the movie with the group of friends on the run from…something. After watching the movie and doing a bit of research, Steve Wolsh intends Muck to be a trilogy, with the first movie actually being the centerpiece, with a prequel and sequel to follow. It’s an interesting concept, but made for quite a confusing start.

It’s pretty easy to see the director Steve Wolsh wanted this to be a bit of a throwback to the 80s with the practical effects and copious amounts of nudity. The attempt works to a degree and I think Wolsh has a pretty good start on a mythology with the creatures he conjured up, but the execution was a little lacking. I actually thought that the nudity was a little too over the top and distracted from the movie. Instead of building nay tension, we’d see scenes of ladies getting naked for no particular reason. If I wanted to watch a movie just for naked women, it wouldn’t be a horror movie.

The second issue I had was with the characters. I didn’t really like any of them. They all seemed to fall into the same stereotype and I never found myself investing in any of their fates. The blame can be shared by the script and the cast I suppose.

Even with its flaws, I was able to enjoy Muck, I just thought it could have been so much better. The effects are pretty top notch and I thought the creature designs were very good. They reminded me of a cross between Lord of the Rings and The Descent. I found them to be the most interesting characters in the movie and want more of them. Hopefully Wolsh improves on the next movie, because I think that the concept has a lot of potential.

Comments
  1. Deaducated says:

    I’ve kinda been looking forward to this and I’m not sure why.

  2. shnsjolin says:

    It had such great promise – I’ll have to revisit it at some point.

Leave a Reply

