1984-A-Thon: Night of the Comet

Posted: August 26, 2014 in Movie Review
Tags: , ,

Night of the Comet - Gary Pullin

I was the wise old age of 8 in 1984, the same age as my youngest son now. Looking back at the list of movies that came out that year brings a huge grin to my face. When Todd reached out to me to contribute to his 1984-a-thon, my mind went through all the movies that I could pick. There are a lot of movies that I’ve introduced my kids to, including Indiana Jones, Ghostbusters, The Karate Kid and Gremlins. Being a fan of the often maligned horror genre, there are also a couple of classics that I could have picked in A Nightmare on Elm Street and Children of the Corn, but I knew pretty quickly that I had to pick Night of the Comet.

My love of Night of the Comet started early, albeit not in 1984. My parents were pretty strict with the movies I got to watch at my tender age (although I did see Gremlins pretty early on). I don’t recall when I first laid eyes upon Night of the Comet, but it was likely in Junior High, when my parents (or more accurately, my friend’s Parents) were less mindful about what we were watching.

Although both of the leads are easy on the eyes, it was the images of some of the zombies that really stuck with me, especially the motorcycle cops and the kid. It took many years for Night of the Comet to get a release on DVD, but as soon as it did, I was one of the first in line to pick it up. When I revisited the movie, I essentially fell in love with the movie all over again, which seems to be the exception these days.

Night of the Comet has some fantastic imagery in it, from the pretty nasty looking creatures to the empty cityscapes. It really is a showcase for what horror fans love about the 80s; great practical FX and latex masks. There aren’t really any great kills or gory scenes, but the atmosphere is there.

As with so many horror movies, it quickly becomes apparent that it’s not just the monsters that are evil, but also humankind themselves. The introduction of the scientists, and Geoffrey Lewis in particular, keep the story from getting stale and give us more than random monsters to root against.

To say the acting is over the top is an understatement, but it helps make Night of the Comet a snapshot of the early 80s. Big hair and valley girl accents rule the day, but it really gives the movie its charm. The scene in the mall seems to be an homage to Romero’s Dawn, but also fits right in with the vibe of the movie.

While 1984 was a banner year for films, there are a lot of hidden gems to be found as well, and in my opinion Night of the Comet is one of those movies. Grab some popcorn, your favorite beverage and enjoy!

Read my original review of Night of the Comet here!

Comments
  1. […] – Cenobite Me experiences Night of the Comet. […]

  2. thesquonk says:

    Night of the Comet is a forgotten gem. I love that Roger Corman regular Mary Woronov is in this! And you’re right, there is some great photography in this one.

    Thanks for participating in the blogathon!

Leave a Reply

