This is the End (2013)

Posted: December 8, 2013 in Movie Review
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This is the End

Directed By: Evan Goldberg & Seth Rogen

Starring: Seth Rogan, James Franco, Jonah Hill, Jay Barachel, Danny McBride, Craig Robinson, Emma Watson

Synopsis: A group of Hollywood heavyweights are gathered for a party at James Franco’s house when the apocalypse begins.

Thoughts: The moment I saw the trailer for This is the End, I knew that I had to see the movie.  There were some great laugh out loud moments and I couldn’t wait to see some of Hollywood’s newest funnymen show their stuff during the Apocalypse.  While on the surface, this isn’t a horror movie, it is about the end of the world and features cannibals and demons, so it fits into this site’s theme.

It’s hard to judge the acting, because all of the actors play themselves.  The entire script is a running diatribe of drug references, dick jokes and bathroom humor, something I can really see James Franco, Jonah Hill and Seth Rogan doing on a pretty regular basis.  My favorite “actor” had to be Michael Cera, all hopped up on coke and smacking Rihanna’s ass though.  I’m not all that familiar with Jay Baruchel, but this wasn’t the movie to endear him to me.  I think Craig Robinson hit it on the head when he called him a hipster.  He was whiny, bitchy and unfunny.

Although Evan Goldberg and Seth Rogan are given credit for directing, I have to believe that a lot of this movie played out like an improv sketch.  There were some action pieces, but who are we kidding, this is a vehicle for the comedic talents of the entire cast, which is where the success of the movie hinges.

Honestly, this movie was pretty funny, at least most of it.  I thought it was too long though.  It should have been in that 80-90 minute range, not closing in on 110.  I found it to get a little tired towards the end.  The guys were just in the house too long without much happening, other than the constant stream of dick jokes, and a slightly too long bit about masturbation.

Overall, I was let down by This is the End.  The length of the movie was a big deterrent, as it dragged a little too long.  This movie is essentially a SNL skit with a bigger budget and needed to be trimmed down.  I would call this one an ok rental, but I won’t be adding it to my collection anytime soon.  Catch it if you are a Seth Rogan fan, otherwise, feel free to steer clear.

Comments
  1. Jay Baruchel, like Rogen and Franco, is another veteran of Judd Apatow’s films and TV shows. He has a supporting role in “Knocked Up” and was the star of the short-lived TV series “Undeclared.” Among his non-Apatow films, he has featured in “Tropic Thunder” and the Oscar-winning “Million Dollar Baby,” as well as starring in “She’s Out of My League.”

    All are at least worth a look.

  2. jeremyvoltz says:

    I enjoyed this movie. However, I was a little let down too. I thought it was going to be epic (on a comedy standpoint). Like I said, I enjoyed it, but I was expecting it to be way funnier. Standouts for me were Danny McBride, Craig Robinson, and Jonah Hill.

    • shnsjolin says:

      That pretty much sums up how I felt as well. I watched this back to back with The World’s End and was looking for “epic-ness” and just didn’t find it. Review for The World’s End coming soon.

Leave a Reply

