The Conjuring (2013)

Posted: November 4, 2013 in Movie Review
Tags: , ,

The Conjuring

Directed By: James Wan

Starring: Patrick Wilson, Vera Farmiga Lili Taylor, Ron Livingston, Shanley Caswell, Hayley McFarland, Joey King, Mackenzie Foy, Kyla Deaver, Shannon Kook, John Brotherton

Subgenre: Demons & Possession

Synopsis: Ed and Lorraine Warren investigate a disturbing presence in a farmhouse in Rhode Island.

Thoughts: I’ve watched thousands of horror movies and when I think back to the ones that were truly scary, they almost all involve either possession or ghosts, so it would make sense that I found The Conjuring to be delightfully scary as it had BOTH ghosts and possession.  There were more than a few moments throughout the movie when the hair on my arms was standing straight up.  On top of that, there were a couple very good jump scares, although some of those were ruined by trailers.

The story follows Ed and Lorraine Warren as they investigate yet another haunted house.  The Warrens were actual paranormal investigators, with their most famous encounter being the story that inspired The Amityville Horror. There have been a couple of other movies based on their encounters as well, including A Haunting in Connecticut and The Haunted.

I thought the cast was wonderful.  All of the main players really sold their parts, but I was most impressed with Patrick Wilson, who played Ed Warren.  He really drew me into his scenes and I sympathized with how he wanted to protect his wife.  There were a couple of supporting members that I found distracting, namely the team that worked with The Warrens.  When they were center camera, I tended to be pulled out of the story.  I can’t quite put my finger on why that is, but I found them distracting, whereas everyone else supported and built the story.

Director James Wan made a huge splash with Saw, which helped usher in a very gory period in recent horror history, but he has really shown that he is not a one-trick pony.  He’s brought us Dead Silence (underrated) and Insidious, proving that he can scare the hell out of us as well as splash buckets of blood.  Wan has built one hell of a resume, and I can easily see fans looking back in 20 years and seeing Wan as a “Master of Horror.”

If you haven’t seen The Conjuring, I can’t recommend it highly enough.  It is one of my favorite movies of the year and I can’t wait to revisit it soon.

Comments
  1. CMrok93 says:

    Was scary at times, but just not as terrifying as I had truly expected it to be. Just tense. Good review.

  2. Mike says:

    That artwork looks bone-chilling. Seems like a good enough horror movie and your thoughts on it makes me want to check it out even more Definitely going to give it a rent.

  3. I’ve skipped this one so far but, the more positive reviews that keep coming in, the more I’m wondering if maybe I shouldn’t at least see what the fuss is about. Director James Wan is definitely building a great résumé. I’ll be watching/reviewing “Insidious” sometime this week.

Leave a Reply

