Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter (2012)

Posted: November 24, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , ,

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

Directed By: Timur Bekmambetov

Starring: Benjamin Walker, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Dominic Cooper, Anthony Mackie, Jimmi Simpson, Rufus Sewell, Marton Csokas, Erin Wasson

Subgenre: Vampires

Synopsis: The secret life of Abraham Lincoln is told as he battles hordes of vampires to keep them from taking over the country.

Thoughts: It was easy to see that Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter was going to be a visually stunning movie.  The trailer and Director Timur Bekmambetov’s history all but ensured that.  In fact, the trailer was one of my favorites of 2012, with the bass infused Johnny Cash song and Benjamin Walker swinging his axe as Honest Abe.  I had every intention of seeing this in the theatre, but like so many other movies, it had to wait until its home video release. 

I was surprised at just how good the cast was.  I wasn’t expecting a lot, but I really enjoyed the entire cast.  Benjamin Walker played a great Abe Lincoln and I was especially impressed with Marton Csokas who played Jack Barts, Abe Lincoln’s first nemesis in the movie.  Mary Elizabeth Winstead continues to grow her genre resume with another strong showing here as well.  I think adding this to Final Destination 3, Death Proof and The Thing, and you can argue that she is forging a role as force in the horror genre.

I can’t think of another Director who has as recognizable a visual style as Timur Bekmambetov.  Abraham Lincoln looks much the same as Wanted and his Russian vampire movies (Daywatch and Nightwatch). It is a little surprising that he hasn’t “grown” more over the years, but his style sure is impressive to look at.

While I really liked the movie, I can’t say that I loved it.  I can’t argue that the film is technically sound and amazing to look at or that the cast is better than I was expecting, but it just seemed to be missing something. I haven’t been able to put my finger on an exact reason over the last couple of days, but it seems as if it is missing heart.  It has to be a very difficult thing to vampires into history, so maybe that is what it was.  Whatever was missing is what kept this from being a great movie.  Without it, I still think it is a good movie, and something I will be watching again.  The visual style alone makes it worth it.

Comments
  1. CMrok93 says:

    Good review. This movie was a lot of fun, believe it or not, but whenever they focused on the plot/story/history, it got boring. Also, should have been as ridiculous as the title suggested.

  2. shnsjolin says:

    Thanks! I think you are right. In an attempt to weave in the history, the diluted what should have been a crazy movie.

Leave a Reply

