[REC] 2 (2009)

Posted: October 9, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , ,

REC 2

Directed By: Jaume Balagueró & Paco Plaza

Starring:

Subgenre: Zombies

Synopsis: Picking up minutes after the end of the last film, a crack team goes in to investigate the source of the virus.

Thoughts: I was surprised to see that [REC] 2 started right after the first movie and that the setting stayed the same.  I thought it was a pretty bold move, but one that worked reasonably well.  The biggest issue I had is that the apartment building needed to be “repopulated” for the sequel, and some of the scenarios to make that happen where stretched a bit. The actual setting was fantastic and made for some incredibly tense scenes.

Instead of rehashing the action, a major twist in the source of the virus is incorporated into the story.  I’m not a huge fan of the new direction, but at least they tried for something a little different. 

While the cast is solid, it wasn’t quite as good as the first movie.  I can’t put my finger on it, but it seemed as if the first movie just had better chemistry.  Manuela Velasco returns as Angela, the reporter from the first film and does a good job, but I just didn’t get into the characters here the way I did the first one.

Jaume Balagueró and Paco Plaza return to direct, so the movie has a very familiar feel from behind the camera.  These guys really know how to work within the handheld camera realm.  The action is always kinetic, but I didn’t find myself disoriented very often.

While [REC] 2 didn’t live up to the pedigree of the first film, it is pretty good in its own right.  In a lot of ways, it reminded me of Halloween II, in that it loses a lot from the first movie, but is still an above average movie.  I recommend checking it out, preferably as a double feature with the first movie.

Comments
  1. I agree with the Halloween II comparison. I still like Halloween II, though I recognize its inherent inferiority to the first. Same thing here.

  2. cinenemablog says:

    Avoid the 3rd one like the plague. Too bad they went in a horribly wrong direction.

    While not as good as the 1st one, REC2 is still a pretty fine movie. I didn’t like, however, the whole religion leitmotif (but they were hinting at that at the end of the 1st one if I recall correctly).

  3. shnsjolin says:

    I have yet to see the third, but it looks much different from the trailer. I’m sure I will see it, as I watch a lot of movies.

  4. Chris says:

    Rec 3 is actually pretty decent too. Different spin on the “franchise.”

Leave a Reply

