Interview with the Vampire: The Vampire Chronicles (1994)

Posted: July 4, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Interview with the Vampire: The Vampire Chronicles (1994)

Interview with the Vampire

Directed By: Neil Jordan

Starring: Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt, Kirsten Dunst, Christian Slater, Antonio Banderas, Stephen Rea

Subgenre: Vampires

Synopsis: A vampire tells his epic life story: love, betrayal, loneliness, and hunger. (Courtesy of IMDb)

Thoughts: Interview with the Vampire isn’t your typical horror movie.  It is a dramatic piece of cinema that just happens to feature vampires.  While vampirism is definitely in the center of the movie, you feel as if you are watching a period piece for the majority of the movie.

Interview is based on the Anne Rice series of novels dubbed The Vampire Chronicles.  I’ve read a few of Anne Rice’s novels, but not any of the one’s that this movie is based on.  From what I have heard, it is a pretty faithful adaptation and Anne Rice was generally pleased with the movie.  She initially hated the casting of Tom Cruise, but relented after seeing his performance.

Speaking of the cast, it is quite the collection of Hollywood’s biggest names.  Not only did it star Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt, Christian Slater and Antonio Banderas, but it also featured Kirsten Dunst in one of her first movies.  I thought her acting was better than that of Cruise and Pitt.  It’s not that they did a bad job, but I just felt like I was watching Tom Cruise and Brad Pitt, not Lestat and Loius the vampires.  The costumes and set pieces were worthy of an Oscar nominated film.  In fact Interview was nominated for two golden statues, Best Set Direction and Best Music – Original Score.  Kirsten Dunst was nominated for Best Supporting Actress by several other organizations, just not by the Motion Picture Academy.

It seemed as if Director Neil Jordan was an odd choice for such a grand movie, having previously directed The Crying Game, but he also directed Company of Wolves, another critically acclaimed horror movie.  I thought he did a pretty f antastic job here.  There were some beautifully composed shots and the story came together very well.

I’ll repeat what I said before; Interview with the Vampire is not a typical horror movie.  This isn’t something that you throw on when you are in the mood for some vampire carnage.  It’s pacing is slower than most horror movies and also boasts a run time of just over two hours.  It’s not part of my usual rotation of horror movies I rewatch, but I probably see it every couple of years.  It’s a must see, especially for vampire fans. 

Comments
  1. Yeah, I’ve seen the movie a couple of times, though it’s been a while. Pretty good flick. I’ve also read books 2 and 3 in the series. Those were pretty good as well.

  2. Great review. You shed some new light on this movie for me. But personally, this movie just didn’t do it for me. The plot lacked direction in general and left me feeling unsatisfied. I will say the vampires were classy and suave, but I don’t think that’s enough to make a compelling movie.

    I also got the chance to review this film on my Horror Movie blog. I could always use some feedback from other critics if you get the chance. But keep up the good work.

    http://horrormoviemedication.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-vampire-vampire.html#view

    • shnsjolin says:

      It’s not a movie for everyone, and it isn’t something I watch very often either, but I think it is a well done movie. I can think of many other vampire movies I would rather watch, most of which are not nearly as well made as this one.

      Thanks for stopping by. I’ll make sure and swing by your blog as well.

Leave a Reply

