Swamp Thing (1982)

Posted: April 14, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , , , , ,

Swamp Thing (1982)

Directed By: Wes Craven

Starring: Louis Jordan, Adrienne Barbeau, Ray Wise, David Hess, Dick Durock,

Subgenre: Creature Feature, Sci Fi

Swamp Thing

Synopsis: Dr. Alex Holland is on the verge of a breakthrough with his bioengineering experiment when a group of armed men take down his lab, killing his wife, and inadvertently turning the doctor into Swamp Thing.

Thoughts: Growing up, I was a huge comic book fan, but I mostly followed the big names like X-Men and Image when it was in its heyday.  I don’t recall ever reading Swamp Thing.  Regardless of that fact, I did know who he was, and seeing this listed on Netflix caught my attention.  When I looked a little closer, I was pretty stoked to see Wes Craven was the Director and that it starred Adrienne Barbeau and David Hess. 

 The movie starts out well enough and plays like a decent 80s action flick.  I thought the acting was ok, but could have been better considering the cast.  I thought that the Swamp Thing costume/makeup was pretty well done, especially with as much as it was on screen and in full action sequences.  I didn’t watch too closely for seams or zippers, choosing to rather enjoy it from afar.  

The movie took a rather odd turn once the bad guys got ahold of the chemical formula, turning themselves into other mutations similar to Swamp Thing.  At this point, I felt like the movie “jumped the shark” and what was an enjoyable creature feature action flick turned into a campy science fiction flick.

One thing to note, especially if you are checking this out on Netflix, is that Swamp Thing is often listed as rated PG, but contains multiple topless shots (including Adrienne Barbeau).  This isn’t a huge deal, unless you are screening this in a public setting or if you have kids, but I thought I would pass along the information.

While I am not a huge fan of remakes in general, I think that this character could easily be revisited by Hollywood.  It is a compelling story and a cool character that has a built in fan base, albeit a small one.  I would love to see Marvel produce some of their movies along the lines of their Marvel Knights comics.  The recent Punisher movies have been decent but the Ghost Rider movies were a joke.

Swamp Thing is a decent watch, in a lazy Saturday afternoon on the couch kind of way (which is when I watched it), but is a bit of an oddity in Wes Craven’s filmography, and doesn’t really fit in with all the other amazing horror films the man has brought us.

Comments
  1. I would love to see a Swamp Thing movie based on Alan Moore’s take on the character.

Leave a Reply

