The Beyond (1981)

Posted: April 10, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , , ,

The Beyond (1981)

Directed By: Lucio Fulci

Starring: Catriona MacColl, David Warbeck, Cinzia Monreale, Antoine Saint-John, Veronica Lazar

Subgenre: Zombies

The Beyond

Synopsis: The murder of an artist at a hotel opens one of the seven doors of death, creating a gateway for the dead to walk the Earth.

Thoughts: The Beyond is often considered to be Lucio Fulci’s greatest film.  Oddly enough, I managed to see 10 other Fulci movies before watching it, which is a little backwards for the most part.  I had always wanted to see it, but never ran across a copy that I wanted to pay for, at least until Arrow released their phenomenal Blu-Ray in the UK, which just happens to play on US players as well.  I was so eager to see it that I popped it in late on a Friday night after being on the road all week.  I was exhausted, but wanted badly to watch it. 

The result was dream-like.  I don’t recall all the details of the movie, which is odd for me.  I generally devour a movie piece by piece, taking note of the acting, directing, effects and more, but this time I just experienced the movie.  Fulci’s use of color, fog and symbolism was pretty amazing.  The ending, in particular, was great.  That being said, the film nerd in me can’t wait to revisit The Beyond to peel back the covers and explore the more technical aspects of the movie.

The Beyond is part of Lucio Fulci’s pseudo trilogy The Gates of Hell, along with City of the Living Dead and The House by the Cemetery, but I also think that another of Fulci’s most popular films, Zombi 2, is a good companion piece as well. It’s as if Zombi 2 is the aftermath of The Gates of Hell.

Fulci’s movies can be hit or miss (Manhattan Baby anyone?), but The Beyond is easily one of his hits.  I suggest ordering yourself a copy of Arrow’s Blu Ray and enjoy, whether it is the first time watching this or the hundredth.

Comments
  1. Fulci’s films are mostly miss with me (I found myself bored by City of the Living Dead), but I rather enjoy this one and Zombi 2. I just wish I had a better copy of The Beyond than the cheap(er)-looking “Seven Doors of Death” DVD release by Diamond Entertainment.

    • shnsjolin says:

      I picked up the Arrow Blu on Amazon for around 25.00 I think. I check Amazon often for these, as it seems like the drop the prices to around 20 every once in a while. I also picked up Deep Red and Tenebrae that way as well.

      As far as Fulci’s movies, have you seen Don’t Torture a Duckling, House by the Cemetery or New York Ripper?

  2. Haven’t gotten around to those yet, no. After seeing the trailers for each film, I can say that the order in which I’ll be seeing them when I do seek them out will be: 1) New York Ripper, 2) House by the Cemetery and 3) Don’t Torture a Duckling. Oh, and what is it with Fulci’s apparent fascination with ducks/duck noises? That was some hilarious stuff in the trailer for New York Ripper!

    • shnsjolin says:

      That would probably be the order I watch them in as well. The “duck” voice in Ripper can be annoying, but not as bad as the voice of the kid in “House.” If you are in the mood for some serious craziness, check out Lizard in a Woman’s Skin.

Leave a Reply

