Night of the Comet (1984)

Posted: April 6, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , ,

Night of the Comet (1984)

Directed By: Thom Eberhardt

Night of the Comet

Starring: Catherine Mary Stewart, Kelli Maroney, Robert Beltran, Sharon Farrell, Geoffrey Lewis

Subgenre: Science Fiction, Zombies

Synopsis: A comet that passes near Earth, destroying most people and turning others into zombies. 

Thoughts: Cheerleaders.  Uzis.  Zombies.  Cheese.  OK, maybe there isn’t literally cheese to be found here, but this movie is plenty cheesy, but in a good way.  The population of Earth has no idea what is in store for them when a comet passes close to the Earth, reducing a large amount of the population to red dust and turning others into zombie like creatures.  A few survivors, the ones that were protected by lead, must forge an existence amongst the zombies.

I remember seeing this movie at a young age, and it left an indelible mark on me and remains one of my favorite horror flicks to this day.  One particular scene has stuck with me and terrified me as a youngster; I will never forget the first time I saw those damn motorcycle cops, nor will I forget the nightmares they gave me.  Watching that scene now makes me laugh, but also makes me miss the time that horror movies were actually scary.  The scares are few and far between now.

The acting is over the top, especially by Kelli Maroney who plays the younger sister and wears a cheerleader uniform, but the overacting just fits into the overall theme of the movie.  This just isn’t a movie you can judge by its acting or directing.

Looking back, the zombie/creature FX were pretty good and reminded me quite a bit of the latex costumes used in House for Richard Moll’s character.  Like I mentioned, the motorcycle cops were pretty damn frightening back in the day.

If you haven’t had a chance to check out Night of the Comet, you have to put it on your list, just remember what I said.  It can be pretty cheesy but is a pretty fun time.

Comments
  1. The best scene in movies of this sort (even those like Night of the Comet that are intentionally goofy) comes just after the Apocalypse, where the main character finds themselves all alone. There’s nothing creepier to me than the thought that you might just be the last surviving human on Earth. I love Catherine Mary Stewart in this movie!

    Star Trek fans may also take interest in the presence of Robert Beltran from Star Trek: Voyager as the male lead here.

  2. shnsjolin says:

    Agreed. The scene from 28 Days Later comes to mind right away. I’ve had a long standing crush on Catherine Mary Stewart, and she is on my “list” of celebrities I would love to meet.

    • A similar scene to “28 Days Later,” that being from the pilot ep. of the TV series “The Walking Dead,” also comes to mind for me. Glad to see we’re of the same mind about CMS. Usually I like to keep the illusion when it comes to celebrities, but there are a few I’d love to meet and she’s among them.

  3. […] Read my original review of Night of the Comet here! […]

Leave a Reply

