Deep Red (1975)

Posted: March 26, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: ,

Deep Red (1975)

aka The Hatchet Murders

{Profondo Rosso}

Directed By: Dario Argento

Starring: David Hemmings, Daria Nicolodi, Gabriele Lavia, Macha Meril, Glauco Mauri, Clara Calamai

Subgnere: Giallo

Profondo Rosso

 

Synopsis: After music teacher Marcus Daly fails prevent the murder of a psychic, he begins to follow a series of clues that puts himself and the people around him in mortal danger.

Thoughts: Deep Red is quite often considered the best example of the Giallo film, and with good reason.  Dario Argento’s camera work is some of his best, and that is saying a lot. While there are several elements that make up a Giallo, I think it is the camera work that really sets it apart from standard slashers.

While the acting is pretty good for a horror movie, I wasn’t blown away by any of the characters.  I thought that Gabriele Lavia, who plays Carlo was a bit over the top.  Acting is always tough for me to gauge when watching horror movies, unless it is really bad or really good, and Deep Red is no exception.

It goes without saying that Dario Argento is an iconic Director in the horror genre, and this is one of his better movies.  It is often gushed over by film critics, but while I really enjoy it, it’s not on the top of my list of Argento movies (I prefer both Suspiria and Tenebrae).

If you are new to Dario Argento or foreign horror in general, this is a great place to start.  Like I said, it’s one of Argento’s best and one of the best Giallo’s ever made.  If you are looking to add this to your collection, I highly suggest picking up the Arrow Video UK Blu Ray.  Quite simply, it is amazing, and it plays on US players.

Comments
  1. I really, really wanna see this one. I consider Dario Argento to be maybe the one horror director I’ve neglected the most. I absolutely love Suspiria, and what little I’ve seen of The Stendahl Syndrome seemed very interesting if not trippy.

Leave a Reply

