My Bloody Valentine 3D (2009)

Posted: March 10, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , , ,

My Bloody Valentine 3D (2009)

Directed By: Patrick Lussier

Starring: Jensen Ackles, Jamie King, Kerr Smith, Betsy Rue, Tom Atkins, Edi Gathegi, Todd Farmer

Subgenre: Slasher

My Bloody Valentine 3D

Synopsis: Has Harry Warden, the sole survivor of a mining accident, returned to the town of Valentine’s Bluff on the eve of a Valentine’s Dance to commit grisly murders?

Thoughts: Remakes, especially those with a gimmick like 3D, seemed destined to fail.  Despite that, two of my favorite remakes of recent years have employed this exact gimmick. I thoroughly enjoyed both Piranha 3D and My Bloody Valentine 3D. 

This remake doesn’t rock the boat too much when it comes to the original, but does a great job updating it, while including the obligatory nods to the original.  It also has some of the best use if 3D I have witnessed to date. The pick-axe in the windshield made me jump in the theatre. 

While the acting isn’t bad, it’s not great either. I’ve never gotten into Supernatural, but apparently Jensen Ackles is a big deal to fans of the show.  Personally, I thought the MBV3D cast was prototypical of most slasher movies, just aimed at a slightly older crowd. I have to point out one of my favorite screenwriters makes an appearance here as the Semi Driver.  If you aren’t following Todd Farmer on Twitter, I suggest you do.  At the very least, you get to see some crazy adventures with him, Derrick Mears and Tyler Mane. MBV3D also features Tom Atkins as the sheriff.  This guy is a staple in the horror genre and kicks ass in each of his roles.

I already mentioned the 3D, but it needs to be mentioned again. The use of 3D in some of the death scenes is fantastic, and there always seems to be a pickaxe or various body parts flying towards you.  I would rather see a horror flick that takes advantage of 3D than most action movies. 

My Bloody Valentine works for me and I find it a great time to watch, even at home minus the 3D.  If you haven’t given this one a shot, go for it. 

Comments
  1. My name is Todd Farmer and I approve this message.

  2. shnsjolin says:

    Thanks for checking out the blog Todd! Now get back to writing some more screenplays!

Leave a Reply

