My Bloody Valentine (1981)

Posted: February 27, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags:

My Bloody Valentine (1981)

Directed By: George Mihalka

Starring: Paul Kelman, Neil Affleck, Lori Hallier, Don Francks, Pete Cowper

Subgenre: Slasher

My Bloody Valentine

Synopsis: Harry Warden, the sole survivor of a mining accident, returns to the town of Valentine’s Bluff on the eve of a Valentine’s Dance to commit grizzly murders.

Thoughts: In the wake of the birth of the slasher movie, studios big and small pumped out tons of titles trying to take advantage of the new found goldmine.  A surprising source of many early slasher movies was Canada.  One of my favorites is this little gem here, My Bloody Valentine. 

My Bloody Valentine hits all the important points for a successful slasher; a killer with a great look, plentiful victims, and thanks to the recently released unrated DVD, some really great death scenes.  The MPAA originally slashed about 9 minutes of footage that they deemed to contain excessive violence and gore, but the latest release reinserts the footage.

I’m not going to blow smoke and say that the acting is great.  Hell it’s a stretch to call it good.  The Canadian accents are readily apparent and the script really isn’t all that great.  Still, there is something about My Bloody Valentine that makes it work.  I believe most of the credit goes to the villain, Harry Warden, or the Miner, if that suits you better.  I am really surprised that the character didn’t take off and spawn multiple sequels.  Instead, we would have to wait until 2009 for the remake (more on that in a later post).

George Mihalka, the Director, would go on to direct many more projects, some for TV and some theatrical.  Looking through his filmography, I don’t recognize much. It’s a shame he never returned to the horror genre, I would have liked to have seen what else he could have given us.

If you find yourself wanting to check out some classic 80s slashers, but don’t want to revisit Michael Myers or Jason for the hundredth time, I think My Bloody Valentine is a great place to start.  It’s one of my favorite slashers from the 80s.

Leave a Reply

