Hellraiser: Deader (2005)

Posted: February 19, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , , ,

Hellraiser: Deader (2005)

Directed By: Rick Bota

Starring: Kari Wuhrer, Paul Rhys, Marc Warren, Doug Bradley

Subgenre: Demons & Possession

Hellraiser Deader

Synopsis: Reporter Amy Klein sets off to research a cult that appears to have the ability to resurrect themselves after committing suicide.

Thoughts: The Hellraiser series takes another turn, this time going for a much grittier look and storyline.  The story revolves around a reporter investigating a cult with the ability to resurrect the dead.  The cult is led by Winter LeMarchand, ancestor to Phillip LeMarchand, the creator of the Lament Configuration.  Winter has discovered the secret to resurrection, and is manipulating people into committing suicide and then bringing them back to life, all in the hopes of finding someone that can open the box and bring forth the Cenobites.  Winter has aspirations of controlling the Cenobites and becoming their master.  I think we all can figure out how that is going to end.

I wasn’t a big fan of Deader.  I had liked the approach of the last two installments, but just couldn’t get into this storyline.  It seemed to worry more about the visuals than anything else, and the camera work was reminiscent of Saw.  Everything had a layer of grime to it, and while an effective method, it just didn’t work for me.

I also thought that the acting was uninspired.  One of the strengths of the successful sequels has been the strong leads to play opposite Doug Bradley.  Kari Wuhrer has plenty of genre credits, but she just didn’t do it for me here.  Overall, I would say this has some of the weakest acting of the entire series to date.

The director, Rick Bota, also directed the previous entry, Hellseeker.  Even though I didn’t enjoy this entry nearly as much as the previous one, I still think that Bota has a solid career in front of him.  He seems to be searching for a directing identity and trying different methods.  I mentioned before that Bota only has the three Hellraiser sequels to his directorial filmography right now (Hellseeker, Deader, and Hellworld), but I look forward to seeing what he can deliver in the future.

Deader is really only for the Hellraiser completest.  It’s easily one of the weakest entries to the series, and probably my least favorite (I have yet to see Revelations).  Check it out if you are inclined, but don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Comments
  1. You hit the nail on the head when you said that Deader is only for completists. It’s my least favorite also. I saw it once, and that was enough.

  2. shnsjolin says:

    This was the toughest one for me to get into as well. I kept looking for other things to grab my interest.

Leave a Reply

