Hellraiser: Hellseeker (2002)

Posted: February 17, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , , ,

Hellraiser: Hellseeker (2002)

Directed By: Rick Bota

Starring: Dean Winters, Ashley Laurence, Doug Bradley, William S. Taylor, Michael Rogers, Rachel Hayward

Subgenre: Demons & Possession

Hellraiser Hellseeker

Synopsis: A man survives a car accident in which his wife dies and finds himself tormented by the Cenobites.

Thoughts: The theme of Inferno continues in Hellseeker as the Cenobites mentally torture their prey.  Hellseeker does amp up the gore a bit, but still not in excess.  There are a lot of times that, as the viewer, you are not sure if Trevor is dreaming or not.

I thought the cast was great, but I admit to being a fan of Dean Winters, so that definitely sways my opinion.  I would like to see him get some more mainstream cinematic roles.  Hellseeker also marks the return of Kirsty Cotton, played by Ashley Laurence, so that benefits Hellseeker as well.  I’m not sure how many times I can say it, but Doug Bradley was great as Pinhead.  It really is a role that he defined, and I just can’t see someone else playing the role (I have yet to see Revelations).

Rick Bota gets his directorial debut, but he is no stranger to the horror genre.  He has been the cinematographer for several genre titles, including Demon Knight, House on Haunted Hill and Valentine.  He would go on to direct three Hellraiser sequels, but has yet to have another movie released.  While he hasn’t set the genre on fire, I would think that his track record would get him some more opportunities.  I actually think that this is the best of the three Hellraiser movies he directed, but that has more to do with the script than the direction.  Oddly enough, the three movies are all very different.

I would imagine that fans of Inferno would enjoy Hellseeker, and I am actually a little surprised that it doesn’t get at least a little love.  It really is a decent flick, especially compared to some of the other sequels.  It’s similarities to Inferno make it a great choice for a double feature.  I suggest giving this one a shot.

Comments
  1. I bet Trevor wishes he had Allstate insurance. The REAL fun that I get out of this entry, more than Dean Winters’ portrayal of a man with a Memento-style struggle with his memory, is the (albeit brief) expansion upon the dynamic between Pinhead and Kirsty. You really get a sense this time that it is more like old friends, rather than foes, meeting up again.

    Fans would also be advised to check out the special features where they can view an extended version of a crucial Pinhead/Kirsty scene. It’s well worth a look, as is the feature film itself.

    But I’m sending out a warning now: For the love of all things dear, only watch “Revelations” either for the purposes of a review or for the sake of being a completist. DO NOT watch it expecting to be doing much else apart from wasting 75 minutes of your life. It’s embarrassing in a Black Christmas ’06 kind of way, only worse.

    • shnsjolin says:

      I’ll have to check out the features. I’ve also heard Revelations is anything but a revelation. I’m sure I will end up seeing it anyways.

Leave a Reply

