House of the Devil (2009)

Posted: January 18, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , , ,

House of the Devil (2009)

Directed By: Ti West

Starring: Jocelin Donahue, Tom Noonan, Mary Woronov, Greta Gerwig, AJ Bowen, Dee Wallace

Subgenre: Supernatural, Demons & Possession

House of the Devil

Love this version of the poster.

Synopsis: A babysitter accepts a job that turns out too good to be true

Thoughts: A couple years back, I heard of a movie that was a throwback to the 70s, both in its style and substance.  House of the Devil was pumped up so much that I picked up the DVD the first chance I got…and was disappointed with what was delivered.  I was pretty bummed, as I was really hoping to like it.  It sat on my shelf for a couple of years before I decided to give it another shot.  I’ll revisit just about any movie, and I figured House of the Devil deserved another shot.

The first thing I noticed was that House of the Devil is beautifully shot.  To look like a film from the 70s Director Ti West used 16mm film and even mimicked the camera work so often seen in that era.  It worked to perfection, and I was already being pulled into the movie the second time around.

The acting is almost voyeuristic at times, as it seems they aren’t acting at all.  I guess that shows that they did a good job.  I know one thing, if I were a babysitter and TomNoonan answered the door, I doubt I would take the job.

Now, I enjoyed House of the Devil the second time around, but it’s not a perfect film.  It does drag in the middle.  As an audience, we can start to see what is happening around Samantha (the babysitter), but I think that West waited a little too long to ratchet up the action.  The finale was pretty tense and I loved the ending, so it balances out.

I look back and can’t figure out why House of the Devil didn’t grab me the first time around, but it just goes to show that you should give a movie a second chance.  I was glad I did, and recommend House of the Devil to horror fans out there, but just keep in mind that it is character driven and works to build tension slowly.

Leave a Reply

