Deep Blue Sea (1999)

Posted: January 1, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , , , ,

Deep Blue Sea (1999)

Directed By: Renny Harlin

Starring: Thomas Jane, LL Cool J, Saffron Burrows, Michael Rapaport, Stellan Skarsgard, Samuel Jackson, Jacqueline McKenzie,

Subgenre: Creature Feature

Deep Blue Sea

Synopsis: A group of scientists at a remote marine facility are genetically altering Mako sharks in an attempt to cure Alzheimer’s.  The experiments make the sharks smarter, and ultimately more dangerous.

Thoughts: I’m a sucker for creature features.  Give me killer sharks, giant snakes, rogue gators, whatever, I usually eat it up.  So, it’s no surprise that I am a pretty big fan of Deep Blue Sea.  As far as horror movies go, this has a pretty ridiculous cast with Jane, Rapaport, Skarsgard, Jackson and even LL Cool J.  None of the actors give a lights out performance, but their cumulative talent really helps the movie.  One of the cast suffers a very surprising and early death that is one of the best deaths in any movie.

There really isn’t much of a plot, other than the genetically engineered sharks get loose during a storm and the people at the facility must try and escape, all while the place is flooding.  The simplicity is what makes it work for me.  There are a few nuances with motivation and trying to sure Alzheimer’s, but this is really about some killer sharks stalking their prey in close quarters.

Deep Blue Sea epitomizes a “fun” horror movie for me.  It’s not overly dark, gory and doesn’t deal with difficult material.  It’s fun to watch, and that is a big reason that I like this one.  If you want to watch a fun shark flick, check it out, if you want to watch one that is scary, watch Jaws.

Comments
  1. You’ve pretty much hit all the points that explain why I, too, am a fan of Deep Blue Sea. That one “surprising and early death,” if it’s the character I think it is, makes me laugh because of the timing of it. Whether or not that’s the reaction they were going for, it works for me. I’m also a sucker for Renny Harlin’s films, especially A Nightmare on Elm Street 4 and Die Hard 2. I’ll take his style of mindless action any day over the likes of Michael Bay.

  2. shnsjolin says:

    I know what you mean about Harlin. Have you ever had the chance to see Prison? It’s an 80s horror flick that isn’t out on DVD. It was directed by Harlin and had Viggo Mortinson in it, as well as some stunt work by Kane Hodder.

  3. I also love this movie. It’s fun and entertaining and doesn’t take itself too seriously. I don’t mind watching it everytime it’s on television. I even pop in the DVD every once in a while! For such a prolific cast, I’m surprised that many people hate this movie.
    Good post, and your site is really nice!

Leave a Reply

