Super 8 (2011)

Posted: November 28, 2011 in Movie Review
Tags: , , ,

Super 8 (2011)

Directed By:  J.J. Abrams

Starring: Joel Courtney, Elle Fanning, Riley Griffiths, Zach Mills, Gabriel Basso, Ryan Lee, Kyle Chandler, Noah Emmerich

Subgenre: Science Fiction, Aliens

Super 8

Synopsis: A young group of friends inadvertently video tape a train wreck that was carrying something dangerous.

Thoughts: I had intended on seeing Super 8 in the theatres, but I just never made it.  I picked up the Blu Ray as soon as it came out and after watching it, kicked myself for not seeing it on the big screen.  It has its flaws, but I was wholly entertained.

JJ Abrams extensive search for the cast really paid off.  These kids did an amazing job and you really felt as if they were all lifelong friends.  My favorite was Charles, played by Riley Griffiths.  There is a pretty decent featurette on the Blu Ray that talks about the casting process.  Most of the kids had very little previous experience.  The obvious exception is Elle Fanning, younger sister to Dakota.

It’s hard to argue that JJ Abrams is not a creative genius.  He hasn’t directed all that many movies (Mission: Impossible III, Star Trek, and Super 8), but he been the creative force behind some great shows, including Lost, Fringe and Alias.  I think that Super 8 is his best film and really shows the steps he is taking in becoming a great director.  The train wreck scene, as well as the neighborhood warzone scene were some great action sequences, but the great thing about Super 8 is that it isn’t just an action movie, it’s a great coming of age movie that will bring back memories of The Goonies and E.T.  This was obviously what Abrams and Spielberg (he was a producer) were shooting for and although it can be a bit heavy handed at times, but I think they succeeded.

One part of movies that I don’t often write about it the music, but Michael Giacchino’s score was beautiful and was very reminiscent of what John Williams would bring to a movie.  It was just another reason I was pissed at myself for not seeing this in theatres.

Now, I said that it did have some flaws, and the biggest one is the ending.  I can’t deny that I felt a bit cheated and that it seemed rushed, but it wasn’t bad enough to take away all the fun I had up to it.  The CGI got to be a bit much as well, but something that should probably be expected in this day and age.  For what it’s worth, I thought that the CGI was well done.

Obviously, I recommend seeing Super 8.  Personally, I can’t wait to have my kids sit down and watch it.

Leave a Reply

