ChromeSkull: Laid to Rest 2 (2011)

Posted: October 20, 2011 in Movie Review
Tags: , , , ,

ChromeSkull: Laid to Rest 2 (2011)

Directed By: Robert Hall

Starring: Danielle Harris, Brian Austin Green, Mimi Michaels, Thomas Dekker, Nick Principe

Subgenre: Slasher

Laid to Rest 2

Synopsis: ChromeSkull makes an improbable return to stalk and slash more lovely ladies.

Thoughts: While I had no idea how Robert Hall was going to bring ChromeSkull back, this is one release that I was really looking forward to.  I am a fan of the original and thought it was a good addition to the slasher genre. 

The highlights to LtR2 are the same as the first; a cool looking killer and amazing FX.  This time around, Hall added another Sarah Connor Chronicles alumnus with Brian Austin Green, as well as Danielle Harris.  I was skeptical about Green, but I think he gave one of the better performances of the movie.  I am usually a fan of Harris, but for some reason, I didn’t enjoy her here as much.  It seemed forced at times. 

As I said, the FX are crazy.  Hall is a genius when it comes to this stuff and he really cranked the dial for the sequel.  Personally, I thought it was a little too much.  It took away from the awesomeness of ChromeSkull at times, and you could tell that Hall was really looking to showcase it.

I thought the script could have been better as well.  I liked the idea of multiple killers better, but Hall decided on bringing back the original.  The support network behind ChromeSkull was a good idea, and one that I liked, but once the movie hit the warehouse, it felt an awful lot like a Saw flick.

So, overall, I was disappointed, but I also had very high expectations.  I will need to revisit this in the future, but I think it is a decent watch, and really, sequels rarely live up to the original anyways.  I do hope that Hall does the prequel that he has mentioned, and I hope that Brian Austin Green is in that one as well.

Leave a Reply

