Tucker & Dale vs Evil

Posted: October 9, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

Tucker & Dale vs Evil (2010)

Directed By: Eli Craig

Starring: Alan Tudyk, Tyler Labine, Katrina Bowden, Jesse Moss

Subgenre: Horror-Comedy

Tucker and Dale vs Evil

Synopsis: Tucker and Dale, two hillbillies fixing up their cabin, find themselves entangled with a group of college kids looking to party in the woods.  Hilarity ensues as the bodies pile up.

Thoughts: I had been hearing about Tucker and Dale for quite a while and finally decided to check it out via pay per view on the Playstation Network.  The only thing I regret about renting it was not renting it sooner. 

The best part of the movie, by far, is the acting by Labine and Tudyk.  They bring Tucker and Dale to life and do a great job.  I dare say they are the best comedic duo in a horror movie since Shaun of the Dead. I’ll even go a step farther and say this is the best horror-comedy since Shaun of the Dead. Katrina Bowden does a good job as well, and she makes for great eye candy.  She has a role in the upcoming Piranha 3DD, which I am looking forward to as well.

Director Eli Craig is an unknown, as this was his feature debut.  While I loved this movie, it remains to be seen if Craig will become a genre staple or if he struck gold with the story and actors.  I am looking forward to what he brings us next.

While the comedy aspect is what really makes this work, the gore is actually really well done.  The scene with the wood chipper had me in tears with laughter, yet it was probably the goriest scene in the movie.  It’s this great mixture, combined with the actors, that make this movie really fun.  I’ve been trying to come up with something negative about Tucker & Dale, but I can’t.  It is one of my favorite movies of the year, genre or otherwise.  I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

