The Madness: Hack and Slash Week 1

Posted: October 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

1. Laid to Rest (2009) 90m – DVD
Repeat viewing, but a slasher that I really enjoy.  There are plenty of plot holes and some of the acting isn’t the greatest, but the killer and FX make up for it. I give this a 7/10 rating.
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points: 2 (The Killer’s face is obscured for at least 85% of the film; If a character slips and falls while being pursued by an antagonist.)
Total Points: 4

2. Chromeskull: Laid to Rest 2 (2011) 93m – Blu Ray
First time viewing.  Decent sequel.  Rob Hall amps up the gore, but I thought the acting was pretty poor.  I give it 6.5/10
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points: TRIPLE! (The Killer’s face is obscured for at least 85% of the film; If a character slips and falls while being pursued by an antagonist, 9. Gratuitous BOOB, BUSH, WIENER or ASS shot!!)
Total Points: 6

3. Microcinema (2011) 6m (short) – Streaming
First time viewing.  Pretty interesting short with a shocking twist at the end.
No points for individual shorts

4. Prom Night (1980) 89m – DVD
Repeat viewing.  Overrated slasher in my opinion.  Probably famous because of Curtis more than the movie itself.  I rate this a 6/10.
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points: 2(If the film is titled or takes place on a specific date or holiday; The Killer’s face is obscured for at least 85% of the film)
Total Points: 4

5. Happy Birthday to Me (1981) 110m – DVD
Repeat viewing.  This is one that I seem to like more everytime I watch it.  I rate this a 7.5/10
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points: 2(If the film is titled or takes place on a specific date or holiday; The Killer’s face is obscured for at least 85% of the film)
Total Points: 4

6. Maniac (1980) 87m – Streaming
First viewing.  Pretty disturbing, reminded me of New York Ripper.  Savini’s FX were top notch. 7/10
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points: 1 (Gratuitous BOOB, BUSH, WIENER or ASS shot!!)
Total Points: 3

7. Priest (2011) 87m – Blu Ray
First Viewing.  More action that anything else.  Thought it had potential but was pretty disappointed with this. 6/10
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points: 0
Total Points: 2

8. The Prowler (1981) 89m – DVD
Repeat Viewing.  One of my favorite slashers and more great work by Savini. I rate this 7.5/10.
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points: TRIPLE!(The Killer’s face is obscured for at least 85% of the film; If a character slips and falls while being pursued by an antagonist, Gratuitous BOOB, BUSH, WIENER or ASS shot!!)
Total Points: 6

9. Twitch of the Death Nerve (1971) 84m – DVD
Repeat Viewing. The slasher genre owes much to this little flick by Italian maestro Mario Bava.  Friday the 13th franchise repeats many of the kills here. 8/10.
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points:Triple!  (The Killer’s face is obscured for at least 85% of the film, If a character slips and falls while being pursued by an antagonist, If the film is made in ANY OTHER Country but USA or CANADA – Italy)
Total Points: 6

10. Friday the 13th (1980) 95m – DVD
Repeat Viewing.  Seminal Slasher flick that fortified many of the rules.  I rate this a 9/10.
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points:Triple!  (If the film is titled or takes place on a specific date or holiday, The Killer’s face is obscured for at least 85% of the film, If a celebrity plays themselves OR a (future) A-Lister is killed – Kevin Bacon)
Total Points: 6

11. Friday the 13th: Part II (1981) 87m -DVD
Repeat Viewing. A pretty decent sequel that brings us Jason Voorhees, which makes it a pretty important film in the horror genre. I rate this a 7/10.
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points:Triple!  (If the film is titled or takes place on a specific date or holiday, The Killer’s face is obscured for at least 85% of the film, Gratuitous BOOB, BUSH, WIENER or ASS shot!!)
Total Points: 6

12. Ghoulies (1985) 81m – Streaming
Repeat Viewing. It had been ages since I had seen this, and well, the memories were better than the movie.  It is pretty terrible, but I like the use of the puppets.  I rate it a 5/10.
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points: 0
Total Points: 2

13. Hell Night (1981) 101m – Streaming
First Viewing.  Fun flick starring Linda Blair.  I rate it a 7/10.
Base Points: 2
Bonus Points: 0
Total Points: 2

Weekly Point Total: 51

Comments
  1. Tony says:

    I just watched Ghoulies again the other night, and I had the same exact feelings as you. I had fond memories of it for some reason, and now I don’t know why.

  2. shnsjolin says:

    I can’t believe that there are three sequels. I must be a glutton for punishment, because I kinda want to see them.

Leave a Reply

