Rubber (2010)

Posted: August 16, 2011 in Movie Review
Tags: , ,

Rubber (2010)

Directed By: Quentin Dupieux

Starring: Stephen Spinella, Roxane Mesquida. Jack Plotnick, Wings Hauser, Robert the Tire

Subgenre: Experimental

Rubber

Synopsis: Robert the tire comes to life in the middle of a desert and soon discovers his telepathic powers.  He uses those powers to begin a path of destruction and exploded heads in a remote desert town.

Thoughts: Rubber makes it very clear that it is based on randomness.  The actors break the fourth wall right away, asking the audience why E.T. was brown, why we can’t see air and numerous other questions where the answer is “because.”  Not everything can be explained, least of all telekinetic, psychopathic tires.

You can’t explain Rubber to people; you just have to experience it.  It’s easy to see that Rubber is not for everyone, but for someone that can appreciate experimental film along with exploding heads, I thought it was pretty good.  It could have, and probably should have been, much shorter.  I think had it been a short, it would have been fantastic.  It does tend to drag on a bit, but I did love the ending.  If you do decide to watch it, don’t ask too many questions, just soak it in.  Besides, most of your questions don’t have answers other than “because.” 

I really liked what I saw from the director, but I wouldn’t be surprised if the general public never hears from the guy again.  His style is unique and doesn’t jive with general Hollywood principles.  I would love to see him tackle another project.  Some of his shots were pretty great. 

It is a little tougher to critique the acting, as the movie is so random and absurd at times.  There are times when the acting is amazing and yet others where it seems like Uncle Jimmy got a part because he was in that play back in the Sixth Grade.

I think I watched Rubber at a “good” time for me.  I enjoyed it, but honestly, I could see me hating this in a different frame of mind.  Such is the nature of experimental films, or really, any films for that matter.  I suggest checking this out, just for the originality and the fact that you can tell people at work that you watched a movie about a sentient killer tire.

Leave a Reply

