Bloodsuckers – My Top Ten Vampire Flicks

Posted: July 31, 2011 in Opinions
Tags: ,

After watching a couple of really poor entries into the vampire genre, I needed a purge of sorts.  Over the course of two days, I watched the entire Dracula Legacy Collection, a handful of Hammer classics, the science fiction take on vampires Lifeforce and of course Monster Squad with the kids.  After watching some of the best the genre has to offer, I thought it was about time I put together another top ten list, with the last one being werewolves in April. 

Just like the werewolves, this isn’t a ranking of quality, importance or anything like that.  This is what I think of the movies and which ones I enjoy the most.  Of course, your comments are always appreciated!

1. The Horror of Dracula (1958)

2. Dracula (1931)

3. The Lost Boys (1987)

4. Near Dark (1987)

5. Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992)

6. From Dusk Till Dawn (1992)

7. John Carpenter’s Vampires (1998)

8. The Monster Squad (1987)

9. Interview with the Vampire (1994)

10. The Fearless Vampire Killers (1967)

There were many other movies that could have made the list, and there are still quite a few I have yet to see.  I could have put more Hammer films on the list, but most seem like extensions of the original.  This list is highly subjective, and if I put together the list in 6 months, many of the movies would more than likely shuffle around.  The one exception are the top two slots.  I think that they are the best vampire movies out there.

Leave a Reply

