Hostel: Part III (2011)

Posted: July 11, 2012 in Movie Review
Tags: , , ,

Hostel: Part III (2011)

Hostel 3

Directed By: Scott Spiegel

Starring: Brian Hallisay, Kip Pardue, John Hensley, Skyler Stone, Sarah Habel, Zulay Henao, Thomas Kretschmann, Chris Croy, Nickola Shreli, Evelina Oboza

Subgenre: Thriller, Torture

Synopsis: A Bachelor Party in Las Vegas takes a killer turn when the revelers pick the wrong club to party at.

Thoughts: I have admittedly never been a fan of the “torture” genre that exploded with the success of the first Hostel and Saw.  I am a believer that less is often more in a movie, although I am not one to shy away from a decent gore shot (especially in zombie movies!).  Even so, I thought the first Hostel was pretty decent and you could tell that Eli Roth really loves the genre.

I doubt I would have gone out of my way to see Hostel III, but seeing as how it was available on Netflix Instant, I thought I would give it a shot.  I’m glad I did.  It wasn’t a great movie by any means, but I thought it was pretty good.  The third installment pulls back on the gore, leaving some of what happens off the screen, something I thought worked very well.  Gorehounds need not fret though, there are still a couple pretty gruesome shots, including someone having their face surgically removed.

I was pretty impressed with the cast as everyone seemed to hold their own.  There were no real standouts, but there were also no abysmal performances.  The guys at the Bachelor Party all fill the stereotypical roles you would expect, but they do it well.  The first part plays out much like The Hangover, but with a much worse twist on the night.  You can also expect plenty of very beautiful women, both from the stars of the movie and the supporting cast.

Director Scott Spiegel has been around the horror genre for quite some time, just not often at the forefront.  He was an actor in Within the Woods, the short that would lead to The Evil Dead.  He was also a writer for Evil Dead II.  He’s also worked with Eli Roth quite a bit, being a producer for all three Hostel movies, and eventually directing this installment.  He does a good job here and keeps the movie rolling along.  I thought it was much better than Texas Blood Money, the sequel to From Dusk till Dawn that Spiegel directed.

If you are like me and tend to dismiss this style of movie, you may want to reconsider watching Hostel: Part III.  It has the same mischievous sense of humor as the first, but cuts back the on screen torture to a much more acceptable level (at least to me).  There are still a couple of scenes that will make your skin crawl, especially if you don’t like bugs, but that is part of what makes the horror genre great.

Comments
  1. Tysoncarter says:

    For me the best part of this was the twist at the beginning, with the European guy/girl and the american kid. Nice write up.

  2. I didn’t even like the first Hostel, being particularly revolted by one girl’s ocular disfigurement, although I was pleased/impressed with how that one ended. However, I too declare this to be an excellent write up.

    • shnsjolin says:

      You should check this one out, it isn’t nearly as graphic, with the exception of one scene really and thanks for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

